A page of books

This book was made from a large drawing of imaginary flower shapes. I used acrylic paint in a limited range of bright colours, painted using small strokes, with a fine brush. When the drawing was complete, I divided the paper into four strips, joined them end-to-end then folded them to make a concertina. To finish off, the end panels were folded back and glued down to make front and back covers.

Hand made books have been something I have been experimenting with over the last few years, so I have decided to add a books page to this blog. You can find it here.

Profusion2_webprofusion_web

21 thoughts on “A page of books

  1. Anna this is lovely on so many different levels. Your painting technique is so interesting, it almost has a plush or brocade feel to it. The colours and white space make it vibrant and light. Your book format makes it so I interesting, it turns from a painting to a sculpture. You really do such interesting work. Karen.

    Like

    1. Oh Karen thank you! I am really enjoying discovering new things within the objects I create. Turning drawings into books takes them into a different artwork entirely. Of all of those shown, only the galahs and the small floral paintings were planned as a book or 3 d object, all the others came about as I struggled to give them life.

      Like

    1. Thanks Rosie. I bought the paper (a pack of 50 sheets of handmade paper) originally for printmaking, on the recommendation of a friend, but didn’t like it for printmaking, so its finally come into its own for drawing!

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Karen – I hadn’t thought of the likeness to needlepoint, but you are right, the strokes of colour are like stitches. I have often thought of combining stitching with drawing or painting, but maybe this is doing it anyway.

      Like

  2. So Gorgeous Anna . I’m thinking satin stitch edging from hanks of delicious coloured embroidery threads .. I see a softness in your lines of those grasses that are like bunny tails in the wind … I see things metamorphosing in front of my eyes …. must go lie down Lol

    Like

    1. Poppy – I just rescued this comment from spam, sorry for not responding earlier! I do hope there aren’t other ones that have been eliminated. It does have an embroidered feel doesn’t it? Using small strokes was a nice slow way to build up forms, and let the imagery take on a life of its own.

      Like

Leave a Reply

